Chapter 7 Bankruptcy Document Preparation Service

 

 

 

 

Filing for Bankruptcy in Florida and Filing Fees

You can file a petition for bankruptcy with the local Bankruptcy where you live.

Two factors determine where you should file: (1) your present residence and (2)  where your business assets are located. You can file in the bankruptcy court located:

  • where you have lived or maintained a permanent residence for the 180 days immediately before you file
  • or where your principal place of business is located or where your assets are for the 180 days before you file, or
  • if you have recently moved, where you lived, maintained a permanent residence, maintained your principal place of business, or had assets for the greater portion of those 180 days.

Finding the Bankruptcy Court

You can find your district and the nearest bankruptcy court location by entering your city and state, or zip code, into the U. S. Court Locator and selecting “bankruptcy court” as the court type. The next step is to  click the link to the court’s website to find information on the areas covered by that court’s location.

Depending on where you live (or have assets), you may file in the following courts:

Florida Court Locations

Bryan Simpson United States Courthouse
904-301-6490
300 North Hogan Street Jacksonville, FL 32202

Bryan Simpson United States Courthouse

George C. Young United States Courthouse
407-237-8000
400 West Washington Street Orlando, FL 32801

George C. Young United States Courthouse

Sam M. Gibbons United States Courthouse
813-301-5046
801 North Florida Avenue Tampa, FL 33602

Sam M. Gibbons United States Courthouse

305-714-1800
301 North Miami Avenue Miami, FL 33128

The Flagler Waterview Building

561-514-4100
1515 North Flagler Drive West Palm Beach, FL 33401

The Flagler Waterview Building

Winston E. Arnow Federal Building
866-639-4615
100 North Palafox Street Pensacola, FL 32502

Winston E. Arnow Federal Building

  • you live in Florida; or
  • you had a business or most of your assets in Florida.

If you cannot show you live or had a business/assets in Florida for the last 180 days, you can show you were in Florida more than any other judicial district over the last 180 days.

Bankruptcy Filing Fees

All fees are payable in CASH, MONEY ORDER or CASHIER CHECK. When paying with cash please have exact change. No personal checks or credit cards will be accepted from debtors. Checks/money orders are to be made payable to: Clerk, US Bankruptcy Court.

The fee schedule below is the schedule in effect as of December 1, 2016.

New Petition Filing Fees

Chapter 7 Voluntary or Involuntary
$ 335.00 [$245 filing fee + $75 administrative fee + $15 trustee surcharge]

Chapter 13
$ 310.00 [$235 filing fee + $75 administrative fee]

Paying over time – You may also pay your filing fee in up to 4 installments. However, you must make the final installment within 120 days after you file your bankruptcy petition.


  • you live in Florida; or
  • you had a business or most of your assets in Florida.

If you cannot show you live or had a business/assets in Florida for the last 180 days, you can show you were in Florida more than any other judicial district over the last 180 days.

If you are filing for a business bankruptcy, you can also file wherever a partner or affiliate of your business has already filed for bankruptcy. 28 U.S.C. § 1408(2)

Florida Trustees

Doreen R. Abbott

jaxtrustee@gmail.com
(904)886-9459

Robert Altman

robertaltman@bellsouth.ne
(386)325-4691

Gregory L. Atwater

gregoryatwater@bellsouth.net
(904)264-2273

Nicole Marie Cameron

trustee@tampabay.rr.com
(813) 645-8787

Dawn A. Carapella

dcarapellatrustee@gmail.com
(813) 685-8694

Gene T. Chambers

gchamberspa@cfl.rr.com
(407)872-7575

Carolyn R. Chaney

carolyn.chaney@earthlink.net
(727)864-9851

Aaron R. Cohen

acohen60@bellsouth.net
904-389-7277

Gregory K. Crews

(904)354-1750

Richard Michael Dauval

rdauval@leavenlaw.com
(727) 362-9003

Marie E. Henkel

(407)438-6738

Christine L. Herendeen

clherendeen@herendeenlaw.com
(813) 438-3833

Larry S. Hyman

larry@larryhymancpa.com
(813)875-2701

Gordon P. Jones

gordon@jaxtrustee.com
(904)262-7373

Dennis D. Kennedy

dan@ddkennedy.com
(321) 455-9744

Arvind Mahendru

(407) 504-2462

Stephen L. Meininger

slmeininger@earthlink.net
(813)301-1025

Douglas N. Menchise

dmenchise@verizon.net
(727) 797-8384

Carla P. Musselman

(407)657-4951

Emerson C. Noble

trusteenoble@outlook.com
(407) 628-9300

Lori Patton

trustee@trusteepatton.com
(407) 937-0936

Beth Ann Scharrer

BScharrerTrustee@gmail.com
(727)392-8031

Alexander G. Smith

(904)733-2000

Angela Stathopoulos

astathopoulos31@verizon.net
(727)938-8775

Traci K. Stevenson

tracikstevenson@gmail.com
(727)397-4838

Robert E. Tardif Jr.

rtardif@comcast.net
(239)362-2755

Robert E. Thomas

rthomastrustee@gmail.com
(407)677-5651

Richard B. Webber II

rwebber@zkslawfirm.com
(407) 425-7010

Angela Welch

welchtrustee@gmail.com
(813)814-0836

Theresa M. Bender

tmbenderch7@gmail.com
(850)205-7777

Sherry F. Chancellor

Sherry.Chancellor@yahoo.com
(850)436 8445

Marybeth W. Colon

TRUSTEE@MARYCOLON.COM
(850) 241-0144

Karin A. Garvin

kgarvin@kgarvinlaw.com
(850)437-5577

Roberto A. Angueira

trustee@rabankruptcy.com
(305) 263-3328

Michael R. Bakst

baksttrustee@gmlaw.com
(561)838-4539

Marc P. Barmat

barmat.trustee@furrcohen.com
(561) 395-0500

Scott N. Brown

sbrown@bastamron.com
(305) 379-7904

Jacqueline Calderin

calderintrustee@gmail.com
(786) 369-8440

Drew M. Dillworth

DDillworth@stearnsweaver.com
(305)789-3598

Marcia T. Dunn

mdunn@dunnlawpa.com
(786) 433-3866

Robert C. Furr

trustee@furrtrustee.com
(561)395-1840

Ross R. Hartog

(305) 670-5000

Soneet R. Kapila

trustee@kapilaco.com
(954)761-8707

Nicole Testa Mehdipour

trustee@ntmlawfirm.com
(954) 858-5880

Deborah C. Menotte

dmenotte@gmail.com
(561)795-9640

Barry E. Mukamal

bemtrustee@kapilamukamal.com
(786) 517-5760

Leslie S. Osborne

Les@rorlawfirm.com
(561)368-2200

Chad S. Paiva

chad.paiva@gmlaw.com
(561) 227-2370

Sonya Lorraine Salkin

sls@msbankrupt.com
(954)423-4469

Joel L. Tabas

jtabas@tabassoloff.com
(305) 375-8171

Kenneth A. Welt

(954) 368-6682

Ian J. Gazes

Ian@GazesLLC.com
(646) 662-0626